Confirmation of missed climate targets in the buildings & transport sectors

On 13 April 2022, the Council of Experts on Climate Change (ERK) presented its second review report on the emissions data of the previous year in accordance with § 12 para. 1 of the Federal Climate Change Act (KSG). In addition to the review, the Council of Experts classifies the emission development and the target achievement or target failure of individual sectors in depth and discusses the need and options for a further development of the Federal Climate Change Act.

“Our analysis indicates that without the special effects, emissions in the transport sector would have been even higher in 2021,” explains Hans-Martin Henning, Chairman of the Expert Council. “At the same time, we confirm the Federal Environment Agency’s finding that the building sector exceeded the annual target value for the second time in a row. However, it should be noted in this finding that the exceedance value is smaller than the influences caused by storage and weather.”

“The Federal Climate Change Act is still quite young. In addition to fundamental issues, such as with regard to European embedding, concrete need for adaptation with regard to monitoring and control is apparent in practice in some places,” explains Deputy Chair Brigitte Knopf. The Council of Experts therefore recommends a coordinated process for the further development of the Federal Climate Change Act in the current year.

Bestätigung der Zielverfehlung in den Sektoren Gebäude & Verkehr

Der Expertenrat für Klimafragen (ERK) legte am 13. April 2022 entsprechend § 12 Abs. 1 des Bundes-Klimaschutzgesetzes seinen zweiten Prüfbericht zu den Emissionsdaten des Vorjahres vor. Neben der Prüfung ordnet der Expertenrat die Emissionsentwicklung und die Zielerreichung bzw. Zielverfehlung einzelner Sektoren vertiefend ein und diskutiert Bedarf und Optionen für eine Weiterentwicklung des Bundes-Klimaschutzgesetzes.

„Unsere Analyse gibt Hinweise darauf, dass ohne die Sondereffekte die Emissionen im Verkehr 2021 eher noch höher ausgefallen wären“, erläutert Hans-Martin Henning, Vorsitzender des Expertenrats. „Zugleich bestätigen wir den Befund des Umweltbundesamtes, dass der Gebäudesektor den Jahreszielwert zum zweiten Mal in Folge überschritten hat. Allerdings ist bei dieser Feststellung zu beachten, dass der Überschreitungswert kleiner ist als die durch Lagerhaltung und Witterung bedingten Einflüsse.“  
 
„Das Klimaschutzgesetz ist noch recht jung. Neben grundlegenden Fragestellungen wie beispielsweise in Bezug auf die europäische Einbettung, zeigt sich in der Praxis an einigen Stellen konkreter Anpassungsbedarf im Hinblick auf Monitoring und Steuerung“, erklärt die stellvertretende Vorsitzende Brigitte Knopf. Der Expertenrat empfiehlt daher einen koordinierten Prozess zur Weiterentwicklung des Klimaschutzgesetzes im laufenden Jahr.